Big Breaking - Himachal Pradesh political crisis Live Updates


 “Himachal Pradesh Shaken: The Unprecedented Expulsion of Jairam Thakur and 14 BJP MLAs"

In the intricate political tableau of Himachal Pradesh, a maelstrom has engulfed the corridors of power, following a contentious Rajya Sabha ballot that witnessed defections, catapulting the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to an unforeseen victory for the state's singular seat in the Rajya Sabha, previously under the dominion of a Congress-led governance.


In the aftermath of the electoral count on a fateful Tuesday, Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu levied accusations, suggesting a cohort of "five to six" legislators from the Congress fold were ostensibly abducted and secreted away under the auspices of the Central Reserve Police Force alongside the Haryana Police. These lawmakers, inclusive of Rajinder Rana and Ravi Thakur, found temporary sanctuary in the BJP bastion of Panchkula, within Haryana, subsequently embarking towards Tau Devi Lal Stadium.


Concurrently, the Speaker of Himachal Pradesh's Legislative Assembly, Kuldeep Singh Pathania, engaged in deliberations with Governor Shiv Pratap Shukla at the Raj Bhavan situated in Shimla. Preceding this assembly, Jairam Thakur, who helms the opposition within the state's legislative enclave, sought an audience with the Governor, articulating the BJP's plea for a division of votes concerning the cut motions tabled during the ongoing Budget Session. This plea comes amidst whispers of a potential no-confidence motion being mooted by the BJP against the incumbent Congress-led state government.


Notwithstanding the adjournment of the Himachal Pradesh Assembly, the expelled BJP legislators, among them the opposition leader, Jairam Thakur, remain ensconced within the legislative edifice, unyielding in their departure.


These legislators faced suspension from the assembly on grounds of "indecorous behavior" towards the assembly's marshalls and engendering disarray within the legislative premises. The list of suspended members spans from Jairam Thakur to Vipin Parmar, Vinod Kumar, et al., encompassing a cadre of 15, who, according to Thakur, faced potential suspension by Speaker Pathania to facilitate the unimpeded passage of the budget within the Vidhan Sabha.


In an echo of defiance, BJP's victorious Rajya Sabha contender, Harsh Mahajan, prognosticated the cessation of the Congress governance. This assertion coincides with the expulsion of 15 BJP assembly members by Speaker Pathania, amidst the budgetary discourse within the state assembly.


Amidst these tumultuous developments, Vikramaditya Singh, a minister hailing from Himachal Pradesh and progeny of the erstwhile Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, announced his resignation. Citing attempts to undermine his ministerial efficacy, Singh articulated his decision to abdicate his ministerial responsibilities.


Moreover, six Congress MLAs, after casting their lot with the BJP nominee in the Rajya Sabha election, absconded to an undisclosed locale from Panchkula, Haryana, post their overnight sojourn at a local hotel. Their departure was marked by a clandestine journey towards Tau Devi Lal Stadium, amidst indications of ongoing dialogues with the BJP, hinting at an escalating crisis within the Congress dominion in Himachal Pradesh.


As the saga unfolds, the specter of a political reconfiguration looms large, with the BJP intimating an imminent governmental formation, even as the assembly's speaker engages with the state's governor, underscoring the profound schisms and the intricate dance of democracy within the verdant confines of Himachal Pradesh.

copyright 2022 Ojaank Foundation.